The Hawthorne Theatre is in the centre of Welwyn Garden City.
There is a theatre, lounge, cafe and bar and also a cinema screen.

80th Welwyn Drama Festival

From June 2, 2014

Book
Paddy Ashdown: A Cruel Victory poster

Paddy Ashdown: A Cruel Victory

From June 10th

News & Reviews



DESCRIPTION
PERFORMANCES
80th Welwyn Drama Festival Poster

PRESENTED BY: Hawthorne Theatre and The Welwyn Festival Association Limited
SHOW TYPE: COMMUNITY SHOW
TICKET PRICE

£10 - Standard

£8 Senior / Student / Child

£38 - Season Ticket (all 6 nights) (That’s a £22 Saving!)


2 - 7 June |

Founded in 1929 and as iconic as Welwyn Garden City itself, the Welwyn Drama Festival has brought the best of amateur dramatics from Hertfordshire and further afield to compete in a series of one act plays. Our experienced play selection team carefully put together the most exciting programme for the audience. The result: a week packed with everything from comedy and fantasy to heart-rending stories. Every evening two or more plays will thrill, excite and potentially move the audience to tears! If you’re part of a local theatre group and would like to compete you can contact secretary@welwyndramafestival.org.uk for an application form.

Further information will be available at www.welwyndramafestival.org.uk nearer the time.

The timetable is as follows:

Monday 2 June

  • Monk's Walk School - www.Scot (Youth Drama Festival Winners)
  • Woodhouse Player - Hamlet Part II
  • Nomansland Theatre Company - Under New Management (NEW PLAY)

Tuesday 3 June

  • Company B - Flash (NEW PLAY)
  • Clavering Players - Goldfish Girl

Wednesday 4 June

  • Blitzed Theatre Company - The Piece of Paper Paradox (NEW PLAY)
  • Pier Players - Ever Young
  • Wadham Players - World Premiere

Thursday 5 June

  • Turn the Key Productions - Under The Alder Tree
  • Barn Theatre Club - Bouncers

Friday 6 June

  • Bejou Productions - Epitaph For A Hard Man
  • The College Players - The DisOysterious Date (NEW PLAY)
  • Belmony Theatre Company - The Lamp

Saturday 7 June

  • The Player' Theatre (Wales) - A Universal Sorrow
  • Wanstead Players - A Room Without A Roof

Monday 2nd June

19:30

Tuesday 3rd June

19:30

Wednesday 4th June

19:30

Thursday 5th June

19:30

Friday 6th June

19:30

Saturday 7th June

19:00